London Boroughs and Tube Lines


How many of London’s 32 boroughs (& the City of London) would you pass through on a single end-to-end journey on the tube?

It turns out that if you travel the length of the Piccadilly Line (Uxbridge branch), then, in a single journey, you’ll pass through 14 boroughs (and stop at least once in all of them but Barnet). That’s more of London than if you travel on any single Crossrail journey, once it opens in 2018.

Line Branch # Boroughs
with Stops
# Boroughs
Piccadilly to Uxbridge 13 14
Crossrail to Shenfield 10 13
Central to West Ruislip 11 12
Piccadilly to Heathrow 11 12
Central to Ealing Broadway 10 11
Northern High Barnet to Morden 10 10
District Upminster to Richmond/Ealing Broadway 10 10
Overground Richmond to Stratford 8 10
District Wimbledon to Barking 9 9
Hammersmith & City 9 9
Jubilee 9 9
Northern Edgware to Morden via Bank 9 9
Overground Clapham Junction to Stratford 8 9
Northern Edgware to Morden via Charing Cross 8 8
Bakerloo 5 8
Overground West Croydon to Highbury & Islington 7 7
Metropolitan 7 7
Circle 7 7
Victoria 6 7
Overground Clapham Junction to Highbury & Islington 6 7
Overground Gospel Oak to Barking 6 6
Overground Watford Junction to Euston 3 6
District Wimbledon to Edgware Road 5 5
DLR Bank to Lewisham/Woolwich Arsenal 4 4
Tramlink Wimbledon to New Addington 3 3
Waterloo & City 2 3
Cable Car 2 2

See for yourself at

Of course, if you are aiming to see a cross-section of London’s boroughs, in a rush, then the tube probably isn’t the best way, as you’ll be underground for quite a lot of the journey…

Visit the new Shop
High quality lithographic prints of London data, designed by Oliver O'Brien

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve this * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.